On the Up and Up

Oh this week. This week has been something else for me. I threw my back out on Monday night. I know, right, I’m only 27 years old. But so it goes when your job is lifting three year old’s all day long. It has been days of pain and vertical positions, trips to the chiropractor and repeating to my little chicks, “I’m sorry, Danielle can’t pick you up today.” It’s not always easy to stick to the rules, to not do what you want so badly to, but you have to take care of yourself first, before you can take care of others. And that is lesson well learned..Things are on the up and up here though.

My sister came into town, so it will be great to spend some “sister time” with her. It’s been a very long time since she and I have had an opportunity to connect, alone, outside of giant family parties and holidays. We are mending our bond, strengthening our connection and laughing about all the ridiculous things only a sister can remember and understand. It will be great to do our own thing and not have to worry about anything in particular…. Things are on the up and up here.

Our plan is to make no plans, other than taking my car in to get fixed. I know, right, I just bought that baby. But, sadly someone backed into us this week at Costco. To which, I can only say, I have become a much more cautious driver after. I like to learn from other people’s mistakes. So, in reality, this like smash-up has been a small blessing. It reminds me that things could always be worse, and we just have to be so grateful everyday, for everything we have. When we were growing up my mom always said, “Things are just ‘things’ and you can’t worry too much about a ‘thing’. People are what matter and if everyONE is okay, then everyTHING will be, too.” She’s a smart woman, and that lesson saved my spirit this week. Things are on the up and up here.

This week I pulled my sweater collection out to protect myself from the rain and cold. It gave me a fresh opportunity to wear my favorite boots with my summer skirts, which didn’t look at silly as I would have thought. And now Mother Nature is throwing us a Sunshine After the Rain Party, here in Michigan. She’s a hard one to stay mad at when she blesses us with morning like today. Things are on the up and up here.

Weeks like this, that test us physically, have a great possibility for making us stronger. I will feel better. I will heal. I will be able to bend over and pick the toys off the floor again. Life is all about perspective. And Dolly Parton is totally right when she said, “Storms make trees take deeper roots.” I believe that. Things are on the up and up here.

Lilacs and the sky

This Friday, don’t forget to look up. There is beauty to be found on the branches above us.

2 thoughts on “On the Up and Up

  1. Ouch! I’m sorry that happened 😦 I can definitely relate to kid related injuries with this darn “nanny hip” I’m rockin! Hope you feel way better soon!

  2. Pingback: DIY Fabric Banner | The Green Egg

Leave a Reply

