Sneaky, Snacky Squirrel.

There comes a point in every nanny’s career when you realize that your little birdies aren’t really so little anymore. It’s very bittersweet, but it’s also incredibly exciting, too. Because this means those young minds you’ve been helping develop are now beginning to sync with your own. All that molding and hard work is shifting in your favor. Suddenly all the pictures you once wanted to color, they are now interested in coloring, too. That park you wanted to visit, well guess what?! Now they want to go, too! And the best part of all… they suddenly want to play board games with you! If you’ve never played a board game with a preschooler, you are really missing out. The preschooler’s mind is ripe yet naive. They are new to competition, which means you can teach them how to compete with style, with humor, with class. Luckily for the world, they aren’t sassy and they aren’t mean. They just want to play. Now THAT’S what I’m talking about: good ol’ clean fun!

This week, my little birdy, who is almost three years-old, and I played our first game together. I’d never played it before, but I’m pretty sure it changed my life just as much as it changed her’s. Drum roll please…. announcing the GREATEST game on Planet Earth: Sneaky, Snacky Squirrel!

As we sat playing, just she and I, we laughed and poked humorous fun at one another. There were lots of sound effects like “doot” and “gah”, “”yeeeks” and “yelp”. And for every ridiculous sound effect there was just as many squeals of laughter. In all honesty, this moment tops my list of top ten favorite nannying moments. She was enthralled in the game and she wanted to learn. But, on the flip side, she also knew she was ignorant. She knew she had to look for me for direction for the first part of our game. She needed me to show her the way. And I was more than happy to! And I like to think I taught her with style, with humor and most importantly, with some serious class.

Do you and your little birdies have favorite games to play? Please share them below.

Leave a Reply

