From Pinterest to Reality #3: My “New” Shutters

Sean and I had an idea to make a mail organizer out of shutters. It was a good idea. A very good idea. But in the end, the idea didn’t pan out as expected. And you know what? That’s okay, too.

I found these shutters at a little shop down the road. The shop is jammed packed with found items. Literally, there are hundreds of things packed into this little shop wall to wall, floor to ceiling. There’s no organization, which I don’t really mind, because with all that stuff, you have to go through it carefully and slowly, so as not to miss anything. When I saw these little shutters, I just had to get them. I was especially happy because they were only $1.50. What’s not to like about that? original shuttersshutters orginal 2

They were a little rough, as you can see, but I had a vision. After some lots of cleaning, I decided to paint them orange to help bring in the orange of the dresser we painted a few months ago. Once they were painted, I really liked the way they looked: a little Brady Bunch-esque, a little vintage— my favorite combination! But I also thought that they were just a little too cute to clutter up with mail. So, I gave them a prominent place on our recently organized shelf. shutters finished 2shutters finished 1

I really like the simple statement they make in the place. And even though they weren’t quite what I originally wanted, I am very pleased with them. I guess it just goes to show that sometimes our best ideas are really mistakes, and sometimes these mistakes end up being our favorites!

One thought on “From Pinterest to Reality #3: My “New” Shutters

Leave a Reply

