Displaying and Organizing Our Collections

As a child I was a bit of a hoarder. I just loved collecting things. And hiding things, too. But that’s another issue. Over the years, I’ve gotten good at letting go of things and purging on a regular basis. But, as I was cleaning and rearranging this weekend, I couldn’t help but notice how many things Sean and I collect!

Our offenses include:

First there are our book collections- Classic American Literature books, very old french books, books we read & books we want to read. Also we have our plants, which we consider to be more like children than collections. Then, there are is my fetish for buying things to put more things in, which has led to my old box and crates collection. Not to mention my blue glass mason jars and antique tins collection, as well as Sean’s small clay pots collection. And to finish it off, both Sean and I have collections of rocks, sand and coral we’ve collected from different places we’ve lived. Whoa!

After purchasing the library cart, I was forced to rearrange our apartment. In the process, I began gathering and organizing our collectibles.  Looking at my things scattered across the living room floor, I quickly realized that I didn’t want to purge any of them. In fact, I really liked all of these things and I would have been sad to see them go. Unlike the other things we’ve accumulated, these were quality items with amazing sentimental value. Plus, I firmly feel that the difference between a house and a home, is the stories that your things tell. And so, instead of pitching them, I made them a priority.

I used to have these collections spread all over our apartment. But this time, I decided that I would group them. The results made such a huge difference in our space! Now, all of these things we love are better displayed, organized and ready to share their stories.Shelf with Jars 13 mason jarsbooks with card holderJarsrocks in jarstop of dresser

So what are your collection offenses? Please say I’m not the only one…

Leave a Reply

