2013 Book List

Years later, I still miss college. Not the work load or the hours, but the courses themselves. I miss reading books until my eyes hurt. I miss writing papers and doing research. And most of all, I miss the feeling of sitting in a room of people and discussing literature. The nerd within me forever longs to talk about books all.day.long. And,while I love being a nanny, it comes from a different side of my character than my passions for reading and discussing literature.  015

Last year, I read a lot of books, but not nearly as many as I would have hoped. And unfortunately, I didn’t keep track of them, which makes it hard for me to recall important aspects about the books when I throw myself into those, “Oh! I-read-that-book-too” conversations. This year, a goal for myself is not only to read all of the books on my 2013 Book List, but also to keep track of them as I go along.  More than anything else. it will be fun for me to enter back into a more academia-steered thought process as I go along, as so much of my everyday life focuses on maternal and common-sense skills.

My 2013 Book List:

  1. The Polish Boxer.  Eduardo Halfon
  2. Amsterdam. Ian McEwan
  3. Pillars of the Earth. Ken Follett
  4.  Flight Behavior. Barbara Kingsolver
  5. Holy Yoga. Brooke Boon
  6. Little Princes. Conor Grennan
  7. Velvet Elvis. Rob Bell
  8. East of Eden. Steinbeck
  9. People of the Deer.  Farley Mowat
  10. Bossypants. Tina Fey
  11. A New Earth.  Ekhart Tolle
  12. Jane Eyre.  Charlotte Bronte
  13. Beyond the Beautiful Forevers.  Katherine Boo
  14. The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake.  Aimee Bender
  15. The Perks of Being a Wallflower.  Stephen Chbosky
  16. Mrs. Dalloway.  Virginia Woolf
  17. Anil’s Ghost.  Michael Ondaatje
  18. Sophie’s World.  Jostein Gaarder
  19. Middlesex.  Jeffery Eugenides
  20. The Casual Vacancy.  J.K. Rowling
4 thoughts on “2013 Book List

  1. Pingback: Book Report 1: The Polish Boxer | The Green Egg

  2. Pingback: Book Report 2// Little Princes | The Green Egg

  3. Pingback: Displaying and Organizing Our Collections | The Green Egg

Leave a Reply

