WednesDIY//Coasters from an Old Phone Book

This Christmas, I made Sean’s mom a set of coasters.  By the time I was finished, I was beyond surprised at how simple these DIY coasters were to make.  Since Sean’s mom is probably the best person I know at reusing things, I thought it only appropriate that her coasters were made from the pages of an old phone book.  Along with some scraps from my scrapbook paper for the shape of Michigan, these coasters were both DIY and sustainable, which made her extra happy.  This is definitely a project that I plan on doing again and again for other celebrations.

Coasters

  1. Using Modge Podge, I decoupaged the background I wanted onto the cork coasters. (I bought my cork coasters from a craft store, but could have just as easily cut my own design from a larger piece of cork board.)  I let this set for about twenty minutes. Although it dried quickly, it is important that the thin phone book pages have time to settle as well, this allows bubbles and creases to be minimized in the next step.Supplies for Coasters
  2. Once settled, I cut the shape of lower and upper peninsulas of Michigan from scrap paper. I decoupaged these over the phone book pages and let set for several hours.
  3. After the scrap book paper was settled I applied one layer of Modge Podge over the entire coaster. I let set until dried and then repeated this process three more times.  Depending on your materials, you may be able to do this step more or less.Finished Coasters
  4. Then I wrapped them up and gave them away! The best part of the whole process.

I hope you have as much fun with this project as I did.  Enjoy your Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

