Mmmm… Monday// Granola!

What many of you don’t know, is that I am dating the Granola Making Guru.  Surely, he would never call himself that and surely he is cringing to see yes, I actually posted that claim. But I had to do it anyway, despite his humility, because it is true.

Unfortunately, he hasn’t had much time for making me  granola lately. This left us buying all sorts of granola from the store. And, although we weren’t always pleased to be eating these types of granola,  one positive thing came from this expensive & lazy phase: an overstock of new granola ideas.  This then led to an immediate search for my newest flavor crave: Vanilla Almond Granola. Now, of course, I was successful in finding a surplus of great recipes, but none of them were quite what I wanted (are we noticing the pattern in my life?). So I decided to improvise a bit. I was feeling unusually confident with my guru in tote. So off to the kitchen we went for a quick lesson in making granola.

Here is what we made– and for the record what we made was just what I was looking for.

Vanilla Almond Granola

**In a bowl combine 2 1/2 cups – rolled oats, 1 cup coconut, & 1 1/2 cup sliced almonds.

**Meanwhile, in a small sauce pan heat 1/4 cup oil and 1/2 cup honey with 1 tsp of vanilla extract (you could also use 1 tsp Almond extract or half of each). Once this is mixed well, pour over the top of granola.

**Bake @350 degrees for roughly 30 minutes.  Be sure to flip & mix them up about half way through. After granola has cooled add 1 1/2 cups of your favorite dried fruit. We used cranberries!

A special trick from Sean: line your cooking sheet with tin foil.  Once your granola is done remove the granola from the cooking sheet, but let granola rest on the foil. The longer your granola can remain stationary to cool, the chunkier it will be.  Plus, having it on tin foil makes it a whole lot easier to transfer into a container later.

Enjoy your Monday!!

Leave a Reply

