Mmmm… Monday// Pumpkin Chili

I’ve been wanting to cook something in a pumpkin for awhile now, but I wasn’t sure what I wanted or how I wanted to do it. So, when my friend, Crissy, decided to have a chili cook-off this weekend, I began plotting my recipe for the occasion.

I looked in many cookbooks, in addition to searching mountains of websites & blogs, but I couldn’t find any recipes that fit what I was imagining. Nonetheless, feeling over-excited (as usual) I decided to go ahead and just modge-podge as many recipes together as possible. At times during this experiment I felt like a mad woman in an apron, as this turned out to be quite an undertaking! But I also had LOTS of fun! And yes, I will most certainly do it again. 

So for all of you out there who are also looking for a Pumpkin Chili Recipe BAKED IN a Pumpkin— HERE IT IS!

#1 Cut a hole in the top of the pumpkin that is large enough to ladle soup from.  Scrap flesh and seeds out.

#2 Separate seeds from flesh.  Put flesh in oven to bake @ 375 degrees for about 30 to 40 minutes, or until flesh is well cooked.

#3 Meanwhile, begin cooking your chili.  Begin by softening one well chopped onion in olive oil in a large kettle. Add 3 cloves garlic & 1/2 jalepeno pepper, diced. Saute about three minutes.

Then, add one pint canned tomatoes, undrained.  Stir well.

Add 4 tsp chili powder, 1/2 tsp oregano, 2 tsp  cumin and let settle for 5 to 10 minutes.

Add four cups veggie stock. (I made mine by simply cooking veggies in 4 cups of water for 10 minutes, then drain out veggies & you have your broth. You could easily use any store bought veggie stock, however.) Add 1 can tomato paste & 2 cups black beans. Let simmer.

#4 Turn your attention to the baking pumpkin. Take out of oven. Let cool for 5 minutes, then scoop into food processor.

Puree pumpkin.

Add 1 cup of this puree to the soup. Let soup continue to simmer for for about 1 hour.

#5 Meanwhile, wash off your pumpkin. Rub olive oil on the outside. Drizzle olive oil on the inside as well.

Put on a cookie sheet & bake @ 375 degrees for 45 minutes. 

#6 Take out of oven & let cool. Scrap remaining soft flesh from the pumpkin. Smash flesh lightly with a potato masher.

Put hot soup into pumpkin. Mix well.

Serve.

Feel PROUD! Feel very, very PROUD!

2 thoughts on “Mmmm… Monday// Pumpkin Chili

  1. Pingback: 2012 Creative Re-Cap | The Green Egg

Leave a Reply

